The Vice Chancellor

Prof. J. P. Sharma has taken over as Vice-Chancellor of Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Sciences & Technology of Jammu, UT of J & K on 15th June 2020.. Previously he worked as Joint Director (Extension) and as Head, Division of Agricultural Extension and Director, Centre for Advanced Faculty Training (Extension) at Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI), New Delhi. He has vast experience of 33 years conducting strategic research, guiding, teaching postgraduate students, conducting national/ international training programmes and carrying out agricultural development interventions at the national level. He earned his Doctoral degree from IIT, Delhi and Post Graduation from GB Pant University of Agriculture and Technology, Pantnagar, and was awarded Fellowships from IIT, Delhi and UNDP respectively. Associated with 20 externally funded projects; funded by ICAR, DST, DBT, NABARD etc and worked in 13 institutional research projects as PI/Co-PI. Designed and developed innovative extension approaches like IARI-Post-Office Linkage Extension Model (Krishi Dak), Cyber Extension Model, Expert System, E-learning Module, National Extension Programme, IARI-VO Partnership Programme, Innovative farmer lead extension system etc for better and faster dissemination of technologies. Introduced/taught 11 postgraduate courses in agricultural extension and guided 21 students as Chairman/Co-Chairman/Member, Advisory Committee. Published 106 research papers in reputed journals, 283 popular articles in magazines and newspapers, 51 books, 60 book chapters. Organized more than 100 trainings including National and International programmes as Course Director on the topics of national relevance. Member of various national and international Professional Committees and invited as consultants/expert for Planning Commission, DBT, DST, Vigyan Bharti (VIBHA), Member National Advisory board of Agrivision and AERC governing body. Coordinator of Mera Gaon Mera Gaurav (Government flagship scheme), Unnat Bharat Abhiyan (MoHRD), Pandit Deendayal Upadhaya Krishi Shiksha Yojana (MoA&FW). Received more than 60 awards/recognition including Dr Rajendra Prasad Puruskar and Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR, Best Agricultural Extension Scientist Award of IARI, Raj Bhasha Gaurav Puraskar of Ministry of Home Affairs, Shanti Prasad Goel Memorial Award, Manthan Award-South Asia and Dr G.S.Vidyarthi Award for making outstanding contributions for the upliftment of the farming community.